Draft Details

Review start date:Aug 4, 2021
Review end date:Oct 3, 2021
Contact email:kelly.yaremko(at)csagroup.org
Draft Scope/Description:

1.1  Structures, systems, and components requiring seismic qualification

This Standard defines the processes and requirements for performing seismic qualification by testing and presents the test methods that may be used for the seismic qualification of the nuclear power plant structures, systems, and components (SSCs). Seismic qualification by testing is typically used for SSCs that will be performing both an active function and that are required to change state during or following a seismic event in order to perform a safety function, while maintaining structural and/or pressure-boundary integrity or seismic category B per CSA N289.1 Clause Seismic testing can identify contact chatter or unauthorized change of state of contact in electrical and I&C components during seismic excitation.


(1)   Clause 5.3 of CSA N289.1 specifies acceptable seismic qualification methodologies, including qualification by analysis, testing, or a combination thereof and qualification by similarity, depending on the nature and complexity of the SSC.
(2)   Some mechanical and electrical components are inherently seismically rugged (see CSA N289.1 Clause or Clause D.5 of this standard) and do not need to be tested to demonstrate seismic capability.
(3) Seismic categories are defined in N289.1, Clause 5.2.3.

1.2  Specification development

This Standard is intended to provide a basis for developing specifications for seismic qualification of SSCs by testing, or by a combination of analysis and testing, and to aid component purchasers, suppliers, and testing laboratories in selecting the appropriate test method(s) for performing a seismic qualification test. The specification provides the basis for the development of the test plan by the testing laboratory.

1.3  Acceptable methods

This Standard presents several acceptable methods with the intent of permitting the user to make a judicious selection from among the various options. In making such a selection, the user of this Standard should choose those test methods which best recognize the characteristics of a particular SSC and the seismic environment under which it is required to perform its function.


It should be recognized that seismic qualification forms only a portion of the overall equipment qualification program. It is important that the qualification program for a component include consideration of all operational loadings (e.g., seismic, environmental, aging, thermal and mechanical stresses, deformation, etc.) for which the component must demonstrably meet its SSC functionality objectives.

Tests performed in accordance with the requirements of IEEE 344 and which satisfy the test specification written as per CSA N289.4 may be considered acceptable.

1.4  Terminology

In CSA standards, “shall” is used to express a requirement, i.e., a provision that the user is obliged to satisfy in order to comply with the standard; “should” is used to express a recommendation or that which is advised but not required; and “may” is used to express an option or that which is permissible within the limits of the standard.

Notes accompanying clauses do not include requirements or alternative requirements; the purpose of a note accompanying a clause is to separate from the text explanatory or informative material.

Notes to tables and figures are considered part of the table or figure and may be written as requirements.

Annexes are designated normative (mandatory) or informative (nonmandatory) to define their application.

You may comment on any section of this document by clicking the “Submit Comment” link at the bottom of the relevant section.